National Quality

On this page you will find information about National Quality and links to important websites.  Home Road Kindergarten has a Quality Improvement Plan in place which is available to view in our foyer.  Please direct any queries regarding our Quality Improvement process to our Educational Leaders, Tammy Gonzalez and Nicole Polson.

Home Road Kindergarten has been rated as ‘Exceeding National Quality Standard’.

Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA)

ACECQA (pronounced Ah-see-qua) is an independent national authority which guides the implementation of the National Quality Framework (NQF) for Early Childhood Education and Care nationally and ensures consistency in delivery.

Regulatory authorities in each state and territory manage the NQF locally. These authorities are also responsible for assessing and rating education and care services in each area.

To make certain the NQF is delivered consistently and reliably, ACECQA works with regulatory authorities and state and territory governments as they implement the regulations.  To read more please visit

National Quality Framework

The National Quality Framework (NQF) raises quality and drives continuous improvement and consistency in Australian education and care services.

Established in 2012, the NQF applies to most long day care, family day care, preschool/kindergarten and outside school hours care services.  All Australian Governments have agreed on the NQF for Early Childhood Education and Care.

To ensure Australian children get the best possible start in life, the NQF sets a consistent, high quality standard for early childhood education and care, and outside school hours care services.

The NQF brings together many important components. These individual parts form the solid structural basis for education and care:

  •  New Quality Standards
  •  New Assessment & Rating system
  •  Streamlined regulatory arrangement
  •  National body
  •  National curriculum – learning frameworks
  •  Creation of National Law
  •  Higher educator to child ratios
  •  Better qualified educators

The National Quality Standard (NQS) is a key aspect of the NQF.  The NQS consists of seven quality areas, each containing standards and elements, that children’s education and care services are assessed and rated against.

The seven quality areas covered by the National Quality Standard are:

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children’s health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Governance and Leadership

The NQS is linked to national learning frameworks that recognise children learn from birth.  At Home Road Kindergarten, our educators are guided by “Belonging, Being and Becoming: the Early Years Learning Framework for Australia” (EYLF) when planning high quality programs for our children.

To read more about the National Quality Framework, visit